I’ve Been Cutting Back – How About You?

Prices are still going up. It seems like every month something (or many somethings) costs more than the previous month. Keeping up with it all is proving to be a challenge these days. I am finding that I have to cut back on services and find more creative ways of pinching those pennies. I keep asking myself when it is going to end, and I am a little worried it won’t be soon enough. How about you?

Back at the end of December I started reevaluating my purchases. My needs, and my wants. Categorizing this way is helping me to make decisions on how I am going to cut back on things this year. What needs to go? What needs to stay? And, maybe more importantly, how do I want to bring in a little more money to get a few things I know I am going to need this year and next? I know I have to make some purchases.

I ended last year working extra hours, so I did start out this year pretty well. I just need to keep up with things now. Cutting back is my priority at the moment. I already cut one of my streaming channels and find that I am fine with the ads so that bill isn’t so high. And this is the month I am making decisions on other subscriptions. Will I keep them or not? Decisions will have to be made.

I am also cutting out some other purchases and finding ways of cutting costs on some items. I’m looking at how I can spend less on food, cleaning, and personal hygiene items. I am deciding what clothing items I really need and hoping to find a few things at a discount.

Clothing is the most difficult thing for me. A couple of years ago I sold a lot of 2x, 3x, and 4x, clothes because I had lost a lot of weight. I gave away what I couldn’t sell. I had to replace a lot of items and was working within a budget. I was able to find some items second-hand, but not as much as I would have liked, so I wasn’t able to make all the purchases I needed. I lucked out and received a spring/fall jacket for free, and a well-used winter coat that I used for two years but now needs to be replaced. But I went without some things, and now am finding that I need them.

One way I have cut expenses on clothing was by using Temu. Say what you will about that platform, but I decided to try out a nightgown through them and fell in love with it. It’s the most comfortable nightie I have ever had, and I paid less than $10 for it ($7.99, I believe). I loved it so much that over a few-month period, as I could, I ordered enough to get me through the week plus a couple of extra nights. It was more affordable than buying them any other way at the time. I can’t complain about them either. They are holding up so well.

I’m now looking for a new winter coat and a few other items. I am cutting back in some areas to come up with the money for these things, hoping to get decent things at a reasonable cost. When I tried before winter to get the coat, I was looking at having to pay $60 to $125 for something nice enough. My hope is that I can get one for half the price, at least, now that winter is pretty much over.

I’m getting creative with things, trying to not go overboard on cost as I get what I need.

What are you doing to cut costs? Any ideas for finding good deals on items? I live in Maine, near the Bangor area, but I am finding I may have to order some, if not all, of the things I need online.

~ Shannon

Leave a Reply Please!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.